Skip to content

Today at the Kennedy

July 1, 2010
[tweetmeme source=”artbykcmoore” only_single=false]
TURBULENCE

16 x 20 oil on canvas

Yes, I move into a space at the Kennedy Gallery on 20th Street in Sacramento.  It is a beautiful situation: an open front, artist alcoves around, an incredible covered garden-like patio served by a next door restaurant. 

I will share a space with Dianne Mattar who was my guest artist in the last show of the legendary Midtown Gallery.  I will feature mostly oil paintings, many that have been in storage for years. 

This painting is called TURBULENCE, it is a dark and moody work with a story to tell.  It hasn’t been shown for years.  The emotion it generates is very different from what people have come to expect of me.  I worked in a domestic violence center at the time I painted it. 

When I completed it, I asked Gary McCann about showing it at his Midtown Gallery.  I didn’t understand it myself and didn’t show it to anyone for months.  He said an artist is effected by their environment, you can’t help but put it into your painting…it has to come out.  

So I will have this at the Kennedy, for me a new door to traverse.  I’ve been accustomed to a very quiet gallery environment for over 10 years and I know this will not be the same! 

Wish us good things!  KC

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

