Skip to content

Kelly Peterson introduces innovative commercial water-acrylics to local artists

July 29, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”artbykcmoore” only_single=false]

A decorative artist herself, Kelly invited several local artists to try out her new product line of commercial-grade paint and provide feedback.  I’ve used them twice now; on 3 gesso’d boards and the results have been great.  These paints are equivalent or better than the best I’ve ever tried.  They are easy to use, provide a full range of hues, glazes and suspension products, and they clean up easily.  Plus they are very earth friendly.

During my trial, I tried every trick I could think of: blending, painting over, splashing, scraping, I even attached gauze into the paint to add texture.  All of them yielded great results.  In fact, I can achieve things I can’t achieve with other paints, especially with regards to adding texture to paintings.

In addition to the quality paints, Kelly also provides a vast amount of new and existing tools and techniques that will add a new dimension to my paintings.  I’m very excited for Kelly and even more excited to have access to these great products.

While I don’t want to comment on the approachability of this piece, it certainly demonstrates many painting techniques tried during my first encounter with Kelly’s products.  The detail at right shows gauze embedded into the paint to develop texture.

From → Art News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

